|
|
|
|
FAQ
  • How does Orthokeratology (Ortho-K) control myopia progression? Will it cause any adverse effect? How long should the lenses be used?
  • Professional Advices:
    Orthokeratology (Ortho-K) is a treatment for controlling children’s myopia progression. It is a non-surgical treatment that requires wearing specially designed hyper-gas permeable contact lenses, which reshapes the cornea temporarily to form “peripheral defocus” to slow down myopia progression. (For most users, their vision can be maintained throughout the day without using glasses or contact lenses after wearing Ortho K for few days to a week.)

    The cornea reshaping effect is only temporal, if the wearer stops wearing the Ortho K lenses, the effect for myopia control will diminish and the cornea will return to its original shape within a few days to weeks, so as the refractive error. l Therefore, in order to effectively control myopia, the wearers need to wear the Ortho-K lenses overnight every night.

    Ortho-K lenses must be cleaned and disinfected properly every day, and the wearers must maintain regular checkups and strictly follow instructions given by the professional optometrist. An inappropriate use of Ortho K lens can be risky and can lead to adverse effects such as corneal epithelial damage, solution allergy or at worst vision impairment.

    During the follow up visit, optometrists will examine not only the ocular health and the change in refractive power, but also the lenses condition. They may also prescribe new lenses for the children if necessary.

    The cost for the Ortho-K treatment provided by our Centre covers all lenses during the fitting process and all the check-up fees for the first year.
  • Is an annual eye examination necessary for everyone?
  • Professional Advices:
    We recommend everyone to have a comprehensive eye examination annually. After the first examination, optometrists will suggest the date for next visit.

    For adult customers, if their eyes are healthy and nothing needed to follow up, They should still have an eye examination every two years, because symptoms of many eye diseases are not conspicuous at the early stage, regular check-ups and early treatment can prevent these diseases from causing permanent visual impairments.

    Children, particularly those with myopia, are advised to conduct a refraction test (to ascertain myopic power) every 6 months and undergo a comprehensive eye examination every year.
  • When should children start wearing glasses to correct myopia?
  • Professional Advices:
    For school children, when the vision is not good enough to fulfil the visual needs for their study, for example, they have difficulty in seeing materials on the blackboard or projector, they should wear glasses to correct myopia and improve their vision.

    The optometrists will provide professional recommendations after the refraction and visual acuity assessment.
  • My child tends to tilt his/her head when watching TV. Our repeated efforts to remedy her habit has been in vain. Do we have to worry about this situation?
  • Professional Advices:
    While this might be only a bad habit developed when watching TV, it might perhaps a cause for concern as well – it could be a result of poor visual acuity or binocular vision impairment, you are advised to arrange her a comprehensive eye exam at our Centre.

    If this only happens when your child is watching TV but not on other occasions, you can also conduct a simple test by placing an object at the distance that she normally watches TV and see if she tilts her head when looking at it.
  • If I have only 0.5 dioptre of astigmatism, do I need to wear glasses? How do I prevent it from further progressing?
  • Professional Advices:
    In normal circumstances, 0.5 dioptre of astigmatism does not affect your vision, so you do not have to wear glasses if you have no other visual problems.

    However, if you are highly sensitive to astigmatism or have special visual needs, you can consider wearing glasses to improve your vision.

    Maintaining good visual habits is an effective way to prevent astigmatism from progression. For instance:

    When reading or using electronic screens, do not turn off all light and ensure there is sufficient lighting.

    1.Make sure your TV screen has no flare and reflection.
    2.Put your TV or monitor close to your eye level.
    3.Take a 20-second break from work every 20 minutes and look at objectat least 20 feet away.
    Adopt a good reading posture. Avoid head tilting or reading too close (keep a distance of 40cm).
    4.When using computer, place the monitor away from your eyes at arm’s length (75cm). The screen should be put at about 15 degree lower than your eye level.
  • Is there any method to slow down myopia progression?
  • Professional Advices:
    Myopia is inherited as well as acquired. Studies show that engagement in excessive near work, such as reading or computer work, and a lack of outdoor activities are likely causes for myopia.

    In addition to fostering good visual habits to protect the eye, parents should pay attention to their children’s myopic problem at its early stage, allowing them to receive timely and tailored treatment. They should carefully monitor their children’s myopia progression, arranging for them an eye examination every half a year. If myopia progress quickly, they should consult optometrists on ways to control it in order to prevent diseases that might induced by high myopia.

    There are a number of products on the market that can effectively control myopia progression, including Ortho-K lenses, daily soft contact lenses and special designed spectacle lenses.

    Each myopia control method has its strengths and weaknesses. After the comprehensive eye examination, optometrists will provided the children with the suitable myopia control solution based on their age and visual condition, as well as explaining to them the advantages and limitations for each solutions. To learn more about myopia control and which product is best for your child, make an appointment with Optical 88 Professional Eyecare Centre today.
  • My child is not short sighted. Does he need an annual eye examination?
  • Professional Advices:
    The refractive power of children may change rapidly, therefore, they should have a comprehensive eye examination every year. If any visual problems were found, solution can be provided timely to ensure the healthy development of their eyes in this important stage.
  • How do I know whether my child has any visual problem, is there any sign I can observe?
  • Professional Advices:
    1.Squints the eye, tilts the head or closed one eye when seeing things
    2.Rubs the eye frequently, blinks heavily or tearing.
    3.Reads books, watches TV or uses computer with unusually short working distant.
    4.Commits copying errors frequently or dislikes reading or writing.

    If you observe any of the above signs, you are advised to arrange for a comprehensive eye examination for your kids at our Centre to better understand the ocular and visual condition.

  • What is amblyopia? How do I correct it?
  • Professional Advices:
    Amblyopia happens when the visual acuity of the eye compromised and therefore, the blur image fails to stimulate proper development of the optical zone in the brain.. Amblyopia is mainly caused by strabismus, high myopic, hyperopic or astigmatic power or big difference in refractive power between two eyes, as well as inherited cataracts or ptosis.

    Before age of 8, amblyopia may be treated. The common treatment for amblyopia is to use eye patch to cover the good eye, forcing the use of the amblyopic eye to stimulate the vision. Amblyopic patients with refractive error have to use spectacle to correct the refractive error prior to the use of eye patching. Strabismus patients need to receive vision therapy or orthoptic treatment before applying eye patching. Inherited cataract or ptosis patients should undergo necessary treatment before any amblyopia treatment.

    Parents should arrange for their children children an comprehensive eye examination at around age 4. If amblyopia is found after the prime age of 8, treatment may not be effective. After the amblyopia treatment, continued vision therapy is encouraged in order to improve the amblyopic person’s binocular vision and stereopsis.
  • What are eye floaters?
  • Professional Advices:
     Have you ever tried to catch tiny files flying right in front of you, only to find it was an “illusion”? You were probably not seeing real flies – these flying objects were in fact floaters in your eyes!

    Our eyes are filled with the transparent, gel-like vitreous humour. When it contains undissolved particles that interfere with your sight, you may see tiny fly-like objects before your eyes. These particles may appear as spots, threads, or fragments, becoming what we refer to as "floaters".

    Floaters are not an eye disease. They are entoptic phenomenon caused by vitreous degeneration or a complication of other eye diseases. Degenerative floaters are mostly found in the elderly or those with severe myopia. They pose no threat to visual health and requires no treatment. However, if the floaters are caused by eye diseases, such as retina tear, perforation, detachment or inflammation; vitreous hemorrhage or hyalitis, prompt diagnosis and treatment is necessary to prevent it from developing into blindness.

    People suffering from floaters should seek help from an ophthalmologist or optometrist to undergo a dilated fundus exam. If eye diseases are found during the check-up, surgery or laser treatment should be applied in order to prevent further visual deterioration or permanent loss of vision. Even if the floaters are caused by vitreous degeneration, the patient should take heed on the changes in floater quantity, location and size. Further inspection is necessary if the problem worsens.
  • How to treat glaucoma?
  • Professional Advices:
    Glaucoma is a visual impairment caused by optic nerve damage. It can be classified into two types: acute glaucoma and chronic glaucoma.

    Acute glaucoma: when the fluid-filled anterior chamber becomes narrow or blocked, fluid can't adequately flow through the eye, and the eye pressure may increase abruptly, leading to acute glaucoma.

    Chronic glaucoma: this is the most common type of glaucoma. When the fluid in the eye does not flow properly through the drain of the eye, intra-ocular pressure increases gradually and results in chronic glaucoma. However, intra-ocular pressure is not the only cause for chronic glaucoma.

    Symptoms
    Acute glaucoma: severe eye and head pain, red eyes, blurred vision, nausea or vomiting
    Chronic glaucoma: has no clear symptoms until a later stage, when optic nerve has been damaged and visual field narrowed.

    Diagnosis:
    To detect glaucoma, optometrists have to look into a patient’s case history and conduct a full eye examination, which includes:
    1. Intra-ocular pressure: High intra-ocular pressure might lead to optic nerve damage. However, glaucoma could happen in spite of normal intra-ocular pressure.
    2. Anterior chamber: anterior chamber contains the drainage channels, and when it’s blocked, fluid drains out of the eye too slowly. This increases eye pressure and leads to glaucoma.
    3. Optic nerve inspection: a dilated retina examination can detect the condition of the optic nerve.
    4. Visual field test: Optic never damage results in a poor visual field.

    Treatment
    Personalised treatment should be carried out. Common solutions include:
    1. Eyedrops: to ease eye pressure by reducing the production of fluid or facilitate drainage.
    2. Laser treatment: to open a hole on the iris and cause the fluid to drain out of the eye.
    3. Surgery: If medication and laser treatment fail to control glaucoma, an eye surgery might be needed.

    Preventive measure:
    As most people with glaucoma have no early symptoms, it could cause visual loss beyond repair once the optic nerve is damaged. It is therefore important to conduct an eye examination regularly so that glaucoma can be diagnosed and treated in time.
  • Is presbyopia an eye disease?
  • Professional Advices:
    Presbyopia is not an eye disease. It’s a functional degeneration caused by the natural course of aging. As crystalline lens become hardened with age and lose its elasticity, its ability to focus diminishes. Presbyopia usually occurs beginning at around age 40. Dioptres will continue to grow until the ages between 60 and 65. There is no preventive measures for presbyopia.

    When you begin to develop presbyopia, you will experience blurred near vision, feeling harder and slower to focus your vision on near objects. You cannot read or work at the computer comfortably for a long period, and need to remove near objects in order to focus properly. Intense use on near work will lead to eye fatigue, eye strain, a burning sensation, watery eyes and headaches.

    If you are diagnosed with presbyopia, don’t worry about it. Optometrists will advise you the appropriate corrective solution based on your visual needs and eye condition, including wearing glasses, contact lenses, or undergo surgery. Most people with presbyopia prefer wearing glasses.

    There are single vision lenses and progressive lenses for presbyopia wearers. With just one single dioptre, single vision lenses are for persistent close reading. A separate pair of lenses is needed for looking at distance objects. Progressive lenses offer a smooth transition from distance through intermediate to near vision, supplying all the in-between corrections. They have a pear-shaped progressive powers of correction, with distance vision at the top, near vision at the bottom, and mid-distance in the middle. Wearers will need some time to adapt to the lenses.

    Single-vision reading glasses are readily available on the market, but they are not recommended by optometrists. That’s because these lenses have only one single vision, but most people have a different dioptre for each eye, together with astigmatism. Worse still, the optical centre distance of these glasses may not fit your pupillary distance, which can lead to eye discomforts.
  • Why should we wear sunglasses and how to choose them?
  • Professional Advices:
    Many people believe that ultraviolet radiation only does the damage when the sun is at its brightest. This is not entirely true. The UV is indeed very strong in blazing sunshine, but on cloudy days, outdoor UV can be dangerous as well. When we are planning for outdoor activities, we should pay attention to the UV Index announced by Hong Kong Observatory, whether it’s a sunny day or cloudy day, and take protective measures.

    In addition to direct exposure to sunlight, we should be careful about reflective UV rays. Surfaces such as water or concrete ground can reflect UV rays to our eyes. The snowy ground surface is in particular reflective to UV radiation. When we go skiing, therefore, we should wear appropriate sunglasses to protect our eyes.

    With larger pupils and thinner crystalline lenses, children are more vulnerable to the intrusion of UV rays. They should therefore make it a habit to protect themselves against UV radiation. When going on outdoor activities or water sports, wear sunglasses when the UV index is high, and bear in mind no to look at the sun directly.

    There are a wide variety of sunglasses on the market, with prices ranging from tens to thousands. While these sunglasses showcase lenses with different colours, their UV resistance does not rest on their colour, but their material and surface coating. If we wear a pair of coloured sunglasses with lenses unable to block UV rays, our pupils will dilate due to reduced light, forcing our eyes to receive even more UV rays. That’s why we should purchase sunglasses at recognised stores and opt for models with UV resistance.

  • How to treat cataracts?
  • Professional Advices:
    Cataracts are roughly classified into three types: age-related cataracts, congenital cataracts and secondary cataracts, among which age-related cataracts are the most common. In addition to aging, ultraviolet light is another major factor that causes cataracts, so people with over-exposure to sunlight should take preventive measures against cataracts. Secondary cataracts develop as a result of trauma or use of drugs such as steroid. People with a family history of cataracts or severe myopia are more susceptible to cataracts.

    Treatment:
    Surgery is the only solution to cataracts. With the present-day technology, we no longer have to wait until cataracts become ‘mature’ in order to perform the surgery. The most common surgery in treating cataracts is phacoemulsification. It involves the use of an ultrasonic machine to crack and remove the natural lens, and replace it with an artificial intraocular lens. This is a simple and fast procedure, and patients usually make quick recovery.

    At the early phase of cataract development, your visual condition is subject to change. A pair of glasses can be used to help you correct your vision. If the visual deterioration persists and the glasses can no longer cope with your visual needs, you should consider undergoing an operation to regain your vision.
  • What is Pseudomyopia? 
  • Professional Advices:
    In normal circumstances, the eye accommodate to focus the near objects whereas“relaxed” when looking at objects far away.

    Prolonged periods of near work or reading may lead to muscle spasm inside the eye. This prevents the eye from “relaxing” when looking at distant objects and results in blurry distant vision. This condition is known as pseudomyopia because the symptom is similar to that of myopia.

    During an eye examination, a nervous examinee may experience pseudomyopia. In such case, optometrists can apply eyedrops to temporary relax the eye muscle before refraction so as to avoid pseudomyopia affecting the accuracy.

|
|
|
|
FAQ
  • 角膜矯形鏡如何幫助減慢近視加深?使用此類鏡片會否有後遺症及需要佩戴多久才可見效?
  • 視光師建議:
    佩戴角膜矯形鏡是控制兒童近視加深的其中一個方法。角膜矯形術是透過長期佩戴特別設計的透氣硬鏡將眼角膜形狀臨時改變,形成「周邊離焦」從而延緩近視加深的情況 (大部份使用者在佩戴合適矯形鏡數天至兩星期後,日間不需要佩戴眼鏡也可保持良好視力)。

    而角膜形狀的改變是暫時性的,假如停止佩戴矯形鏡,控制近視的效果會隨著時間而減退,近視度數也會於停止佩戴後幾天至數星期內回復原狀。如要效果穩定就必需每晚戴上矯視鏡睡覺,早上則可除下鏡片。

    鏡片需要每天清潔及消毒,並要經常回到診所覆檢。如佩戴不當,便有可能導致併發症,例如:角膜表皮損傷、藥水過敏反應等,情況嚴重的話可能會影響視力。合適的角膜矯形鏡必須經視光師作多方面的檢查及評估才作處方,使用後亦須配合良好的視覺生活習慣才可達到最佳的近視控制效果。

    在覆檢時,視光師會評估小朋友的眼睛狀況、度數變化及鏡片狀況等。而在有需要時,視光師亦會更新鏡片以配合小朋友的情況。

    本中心提供的角膜矯形術療程費用已包括驗配時需要的所有鏡片及首年所有覆檢費用。
  • 人人都需要年年要驗眼嗎?
  • 視光師建議:
    最理想是每年作全面眼睛檢查一次。在接受第一次全面眼科視光檢查後,視光師會根據顧客不同的眼睛狀況而建議下次驗眼日期。

    若眼睛沒有需要跟進的問題,也應最少每兩年進行一次全面眼睛檢查。因為有很多眼疾在初期不會影響視力,但當患者發現問題時,眼疾可能已對眼睛造成永久損害。

    對小朋友而言,特別是有近視的小朋友,我們會建議每半年作屈光檢查 (檢查度數),每年作全面眼睛檢查。
  • 小朋友的近視有多深才需要戴眼鏡?
  • 視光師建議:
    每個人的視力需求因人而異,所以無法一概而論有幾深近視就必需佩戴眼鏡。對於學童而言,如果近視度數已影響到日常不能看清課堂的投影片或黑板,就應考慮用眼鏡協助來提升看遠視力。當然,經視光師詳細為小朋友驗眼檢查度數後,會就個別情況提供專業建議。
  • 小朋友看電視時會側頭,但看其他事物時沒有該情況出現,家人已作提醒,但未能改善她側頭的習慣,這情況是否有問題呢?
  • 視光師建議:
    小朋友側頭看電視有可能是壞習慣,也有機會是因為視力或雙眼協調問題 ,建議帶小朋友到本中心作一次全面眼科視光檢查。若只是看電視時有側頭的情況,而在其他情況下沒有問題,家長也可嘗試把物件放於正常看電視的距離,並留意小朋友在此距離看該物件時有否側頭的情況。
  • 只有50度散光,需要戴眼鏡嗎?有什麼可以控制以免惡化?
  • 視光師建議:
    在普遍情況下,50度散光對於視力的影響不大,如沒有其他眼睛問題,並不需要佩戴眼鏡。但對於對散光特別敏感或對視力要求特別高之人士,若認為佩戴散光眼鏡後視力更清晣,便可考慮佩戴眼鏡以提升視力。

    要預防散光惡化, 應常常保持良好的視覺習慣,包括:

    1.閱讀/ 看電子屏幕時,不要關掉所有房燈及要有充足和平均的光線。
    2.電視屏幕不要有眩光(反光)。
    3.電視/電腦要放在視線水平,不要太高或太低。
    4.建議每20分鐘休息20秒,並遠望20呎以外的遠景。
    5.保持良好坐姿,避免側著頭閱讀及太近閱讀(保持約40厘米距離)。
    6.電腦距離應有一手長(75cm),電腦屏幕中心應置於眼睛水平下15度。
  • 有沒有方法能阻止近視快速加深?
  • 視光師建議:
    近視受先天遺傳及後天的環境因素影響,有研究顯示長時間近距離作業如閱讀、用電腦及缺少戶外活動也可能令近視加深。

    所以,除了要常常保持良好的視覺習慣去保護眼睛之外,家長在小朋友開始有近視時便應及早正視子女近視的問題。

    第一步是要小心監測近視加深的速度,應最少每半年覆驗度數一次。若發現近視加深的速度比較快,便應盡快向視光師諮詢最適合小朋友的近視控制方法,以減低因深近視而引起的眼疾發病機會。
    市面上有不同類型的近視控制產品,如角膜矯形術、每日即棄近視控制隱形眼鏡及近視控制眼鏡片等,能有效減慢兒童近視加深的速度。

    而每種近視控制的方法都有其優點與缺點,視光師會為小朋友詳細檢查眼睛後,根據個別小朋友的年齡及眼睛狀況而建議最合適的近視控制方法,並詳細分析每個方法的限制、優點和缺點。若希望了解更多近視控制的資料及近視控制產品是否適合你的子女,可預約「近視控制諮詢檢查」。
  • 小朋友沒有近視,須要年年驗眼嗎?
  • 視光師建議:
    由於小朋友仍處於發育期,度數有機會轉變得較快,我們建議小朋友每年作全面眼睛檢查包括檢查度數及視覺健康,以確保可以把握護眼黃金期及時處理視力問題(如有),避免影響眼睛健康發展。
  • 如何察覺子女視力上遇到困難?
  • 視光師建議:
    1.看東西時瞇著眼、側頭或閉上一隻眼睛。
    2.時常搓眼、大力眨眼或流眼水。
    3.異常近距離看書本或電視、電腦等。
    4.時常抄寫錯誤或厭惡近距離工作。

    如發現小朋友有以上視力困難,建議帶小朋友到本中心作一次全面眼科視光檢查以詳情了解眼睛及視力狀況。
  • 甚麼是弱視?如何矯正?
  • 視光師建議:
    弱視是因為眼睛視力出現問題, 令視覺神經系統在發育時期,沒有受到清晰影像刺激,導致腦部視覺區域發展不健全。當中斜視、深度近視、遠視、散光及雙眼度數差別大等都有機會導致弱視。此外,先天性白內障和先天性眼皮下垂亦有可能導致弱視。

    在8歲前, 弱視是有機會糾正的。常用的治療方法包括遮蓋正常的眼睛進行訓練,迫使弱視眼鍛練至正常視力。如果眼睛有度數,患者必須先用眼鏡矯正。每日在指定時間遮蓋正常眼睛,有望改善弱視眼的視力。如因斜視引起的弱視,患者則要透過視力訓練或手術矯正視軸,再配合遮眼治療。而先天性白內障和先天性眼皮下垂的患者,則需透過手術解決問題後才能治療弱視。

    家長應在兒童8歲前,例如4歲時,帶他們到眼科視光師作詳細眼睛健康檢查。若八歲後才發現患有弱視,可能會錯過治療的黃金機會。而弱視康復者在視力改善後,也應留意雙眼的協調能力,適當的視力訓練有助康復者加強雙眼協調及視覺立體感。
  • 甚麼是飛蚊症?
  • 視光師建議:
    你有看見過一些細小東西,如蚊子一樣在你面前轉來轉去嗎?但當你伸手抓“它”時卻又什麼都没有。這些抓不到的東西有可能並非真正的蚊子,而是眼睛毛病的症狀-飛蚊症。

    我們的眼球內是由一種清澈的啫哩狀液體所填滿,名叫玻璃體。飛蚊症的起因就是玻璃體裡出現了雜質,並遮擋了視線,令患者看到些“如蚊子的東西”在眼前飛動。這些東西的形狀可能是黑點狀,線狀,水泡狀等等,但都統稱為飛蚊症。

    飛蚊症本身並非一種眼病,而是一種常見的症狀,可以由良性退化或多種的眼睛疾病所引起。退化引起的飛蚊症主要發生在長者和近視度數較深的人士,一般不會影響眼睛健康,亦不用治療。但如果飛蚊症是由眼睛疾病引起則需要立刻診斷、治理,否則可以引致失明。這些眼疾包括視網膜破裂、穿孔、剥離和發炎,玻璃體出血、發炎等。

    由於飛蚊症的患者不能靠自身觀察來分辦起因。因此,當發現有飛蚊症時應盡快找眼科醫生或眼科視光師作詳細的放瞳眼底檢查。若發現患上眼疾更要接受激光或手術治療,以防止病情惡化至失明。但即使檢查結果是良性的退化性飛蚊症亦不能掉以輕心,要時刻留意着其數量、位置、大小,如嚴重了便要再做檢查。
  • 如何治療青光眼?
  • 視光師建議:
    青光眼是因為視神經受損,而導致視野缺損。可大致分為急性及慢性兩種:

    1.急性青光眼: 前房角是房水排走的地方,若前房角變得狹窄甚至關閉,房水就不能有效地排出,眼壓會迅速升高,因而導致急性青光眼。

    2.慢性青光眼: 是較為常見之類型。由於房水之分泌和排走失衡,眼壓就會漸漸過高而損害視神經引致慢性青光眼。有些慢性青光眼也可能與眼壓無關。

    病徵
    急性青光眼: 患者會突然有眼痛,眼紅,視力模糊,作嘔作悶及頭痛等現象。
    慢性青光眼: 患者在初期並沒有明顯病徵,後期時因視神經受損會令視野範圍逐步收窄。

    如何診斷:
    青光眼需要詳細了解病人的病歷及透過全面的眼科檢查才可以被診斷。檢查包括
    1. 眼壓:眼壓過高可造成視神經受損,但眼壓正常亦不能完全排除患有青光眼的可能性。
    2. 前房角:前房角是房水排走的地方,若前房角有任何異常或阻塞,房水之分泌和排走就會失衡,眼壓就會過高而引致青光眼。
    3. 視覺神經健康檢查:透過放瞳孔之視網膜檢查可以得知視覺神經之健康狀況。
    4. 視野檢查:當視覺神經受損就會出現視野缺損。

    治療方法
    治療方法會因應個人情況而定,常見的有以下幾種
    1. 眼藥水:透過減少眼內房水的產生或增加房水排走以降低眼壓。
    2. 激光治療:利用激光在虹膜造成一個小孔,讓房水更有效地排走,以降低眼壓。
    3. 手術:若藥物及激光治療均未能有效地控青光眼之病情,可進行手術作為進一步之治療。

    預防方法
    由於早期患者未必有明顯徵狀,而神經細胞一經破壞便無法復原,固此定期檢查眼睛極為重要,以便及早獲得治療。 
  • 老花是眼睛毛病嗎?
  • 視光師建議:
    老花並非眼疾,它只是一種隨年紀而出現的退化現象。眼球內的晶狀體會隨著年老而逐漸硬化,失去彈性,導致調節力減弱。老花一般出現於40歲左右,度數會慢慢加深直至60至65歲左右,並沒有預防的方法。

    初期患者會感到看近物時,影像會變得糢糊或感到對焦比年青時吃力和速度變慢。而且他們會感到自己不能長時間舒適地閱讀或使用電腦,及需要將近物移離眼睛以得到較清晰的影象。過份使用眼睛時,患者更會感到眼睛疲勞、刺痛、灼熱、流眼水、甚至頭痛。

    發現老花並不需要過份擔心,眼科視光師會因應個人的日常需要、視力要求和眼睛的健康狀況而出作合適的建議以改善問題。可行的方法有配戴眼鏡、隱形眼鏡或做手術,而最常見的解決方法是配戴眼鏡。

    眼鏡亦可分為單光老花眼鏡和漸進眼鏡。單光老花眼鏡只有一個度數,方便使用者長時間看近,但看遠時需摘下眼鏡或換上另一副看遠用的眼鏡;漸進眼鏡結合遠、中、近距離的度數,鏡片上沒有明確的「界線」劃分視野區域,度數分佈呈葫蘆形,上遠、下近,中距離視野則置於鏡片中間,為樽頸位,需要正確地使用及一些時間作適應。

    市面上有一些現成的單光老花眼鏡,但並不建議選配。這些眼鏡左右鏡片度數一樣,但大部份人士雙眼的度數均不一樣,而且可能有散光。鏡片的光心距離亦與配戴者的瞳距有偏差,容易造成眼睛不適。
  • 為何要戴太陽眼鏡及如何選擇?
  • 視光師建議:
    一般人可能會認為太陽光線猛烈的時候,紫外線亦是最嚴重的時候。的確,太陽猛烈的時候,紫外線的強度會較高,但在天陰的時候,戶外的紫外線亦不容忽視。所以我們在進行戶外活動的時候,無論晴天或陰天都應該留意天文臺發出的紫外線指數以及早採用適當的保護措施。

    另外,除了經太陽直接照射的紫外線,我們亦要留意四周環境上可能反射到的紫外線。一些表面,如水面和石屎地面,亦會將紫外線反射到我們的眼睛,當中以雪地反射紫外線的比率最高,所以進行滑雪活動的時候,我們必須佩戴合適的太陽眼鏡保護眼睛。

    小朋友也應從小開始,養成保護眼睛防紫外線的習慣,因為小朋友的瞳孔較大, 而眼內晶體也較薄令紫外線較容易進入眼睛內部的視網膜。因此,進行戶外及水上活動時或在紫外線指數高的時候應配戴太陽眼鏡,其他時間亦不應直視陽光。

    市面上太陽眼鏡的選擇非常多,價錢可由數十元到數千元,而鏡片的顏色亦有很多,其實鏡片阻隔紫外線的功能是取決於鏡片的物料及其表面鍍膜,而鏡片的顏色並不會影響太陽眼鏡阻隔紫外線的功能。如我們佩戴了有顏色但不能阻隔紫外線的太陽眼鏡,瞳孔會因光線減低而擴大,結果眼睛吸收的紫外線反而更多。因此選購太陽眼鏡時,我們應到認可的店鋪選購,確保購買的太陽眼鏡能有效阻擋紫外線。  
  • 如何治療白內障?
  • 視光師建議:
    白內障可分為先天性,老年性和繼發性三種,當中以老年性白內障最為常見。除了因年老退化,紫外線照射亦會使白內障形成,所以經常曬太陽的人士亦會較易患上白內障。繼發性白內障則可由外傷和使用某些藥物,例如類固醇引致。而有遺傳病史和深近視患者都是患上白內障的高危一群。

    治療方法:
    手術是唯一根治白內障的治療方法,而現今治療白內障的手術已不需要等待白內障至「熟透」才做。手術一般會使用超聲波乳化微創手術,原理是利用超聲波儀器把有白內障的晶體震碎再用儀器吸走,然後再放置人工晶體。這一項微創手術的過程簡單,需時較短,復原速度亦較快。

    在患上白內障初期,眼睛的度數有機會改變而令視力變差, 這時可以用眼鏡以改善視力的。但如果情況較差,眼鏡度數已不足以改善視力,便應考慮接受手術以改善視力。
  • 何謂「假近視」?
  • 視光師建議:
    在正常情況下,眼睛需要調節才能將近距離的事物對焦看清; 而在看遠距離景物時,眼睛則應是處於放鬆的狀態。

    但若果眼睛長時間近距離工作或閱讀,則有機會令眼球內負責調節的肌肉過度緊張,以致望遠距離景物時無法放鬆,形成「看遠模糊,看近清晣」的視力效果,由於這情況與患上近視的情況相近,因此被形容為「假近視」。

    如個別人士在驗眼時過份緊張,令眼球內的肌肉未能放鬆,也有機會出現這情況。此時,視光師會在檢查前先使用眼藥水放鬆檢查者眼內的肌肉,那便可防止在驗眼時出現假近視以影響驗眼的準確度。