聽力資訊

我們如何聽到聲音?

 

聽覺系統包括三個部份:外耳、中耳及內耳。

外耳包括耳廓及耳道,中耳包括耳膜及三枚聽小骨,而內耳則包括了如蝸牛般的耳蝸,內耳連接大腦的聽覺神經。聽覺系統任何一處出現問題都可能會引致聽力損失。

以下是我們耳朵的切面圖:

聲音傳送過程:

  1. 耳廓收集聲音和辨別方向,聲音進入耳道,向耳膜傳送。
  2. 聲音會令耳膜震動,亦會震動三塊相連的耳小骨。
  3. 聲音經耳骨震動放大,進入內耳。聲音震動耳蝸的液體,刺激聽覺毛細胞。聽覺毛細胞在探測到震動後把信號經聽覺神經傳至大腦分析及理解,我們就聽到聲音了。

聽力損失程度

健全的聽覺系統能接收低於或等於二十五分貝的聲音。如果需要高於二十五分貝才能接收,便屬於弱聽。弱聽程度分為輕度、中度、中度嚴重、嚴重及深度。

聽力損失類別

弱聽可按構成原因分為三個類別,包括傳導性弱聽,感音神經性弱聽及混合性弱聽。

傳導性弱聽是由於外耳及/或中耳損傷或阻塞阻礙聲音傳送而造成。常見成因包括中耳感染、耳垢堵塞、鼓膜穿孔或聽小骨受損所致。

感音神經性弱聽是內耳耳蝸及/或聽覺神經受損,使傳送的音量下降及音質模糊。常見成因包括自然老化、細菌或病毒感染、過度暴露於高噪音環境等所造成。

混合性弱聽是指傳導性弱聽混合感音神經性弱聽,例如外耳道因耳垢堵塞引致傳導性弱聽,同時再因自然老化而引致感音神經性弱聽。

聽力保護小貼士

聽力損失會為你帶來社交上,生活上和情緒上的障礙。以下是一些常用的方法去保護你的聽力:

不要掏耳朵

千萬不要用棉花棒或耳挖去清潔耳朵,以免傷害你的耳膜,或將耳垢越推越入。

60-60 法則

在使用個人音樂設備時,遵從”60-60″法則,每次使用時應把音量調到最高輸出的60%以下,而且使用上限為一小時。

配戴耳塞

在嘈雜環境,如音樂會或體育場館時配戴防嘈音耳塞以保護你的聽力。

游水耳塞

游泳時使用游水耳塞以保持耳道衛生。

求助

如發現耳力問題,如耳鳴和聽力困難等,立刻向聽力專業人員求助。

定期檢查

定期進行聽力測驗,以了解自己的聽力狀況。

常見問題

我需要助聽器嗎?

聽力損失在出現初期往往難以察覺。如果您發現在日常生活中看電視、聽電話或日常溝通中出現困難,你應該考慮接受聽力測試。在完成全面的聽力測試後,聽力學家會為您診斷聽力受損程度和性質,從而給予您助聽器及/或聽力輔助儀器方面的建議。

我可以購買未經驗配的助聽器嗎?

我們不建議您在未經聽力測試之情況下直接購買助聽器。助聽器必須根據個人的聽力受損程度及聆聽需要調校。未經調校的助聽器未必能提供適合的聲量,或甚至因過度擴音損害您的剩餘聽力。如您希望選購助聽器,請諮詢您的聽力學家的專業意見。

有很多人說助聽器很嘈吵,而且不能改善日常溝通,這是真的嗎?

助聽器除了放大說話者的聲音之外,也會放大周遭的環境聲音。由於聽損人士接收的聲音刺激較少,助聽器使用者需要時間去適應放大了的聲音。助聽器使用者應先在較為安靜的環境使用助聽器,才逐步在嘈雜環境中使用助聽器。現代的數碼化助聽器使用不同的科技,如方向性麥克風,自動噪音抑制等功能幫助提升溝通效果。

助聽器的一般壽命有多久?

如果保養得宜,助聽器的一般壽命為三至五年或以上。

助聽器的價錢如何?

助聽器的價錢視乎不同的款式,技術和品牌而有差異。除了助聽器機件之外,助聽器的售價亦包括了跟進,調校及保養費用。您的聽力學家會為您診斷聽力受損程度和性質,從而給予您助聽器及/或聽力輔助儀器方面的建議。

Hearing Care

How do we hear sounds?

 

There are 3 parts in the auditory system, namely, the outer ear, middle ear and inner ear. The outer ear includes pinna and outer ear canal. The middle ear includes the tympanic membrane and 3 small ossicles. The inner ear includes the cochlear that connects to the auditory cortex via the auditory nerve. The pathway of sound transmission is as follows:

 

Transmission of sound

  1. Pinna captures sound waves and directs them into the ear canal. Ear canal transmits the sound waves to the tympanic membrane.
  2. Sound waves hit the tympanic membrane and vibrate the 3 ossicles in the middle ear space (malleus, incus and stapes).
  3. The sound waves are amplified by the ossicles. The vibration passes through the oval window to the cochlea and triggers movement of the fluid inside the cochlear. The movement stimulates the hair cells in the cochlear and nerve impulses are generated. The auditory nerve sends these electrical impulses to the brain where the signal is perceived as sound.

Causes and types of hearing loss

Degree of hearing loss

The severity of a hearing impairment is categorized according to the softest intensity of sound a person can perceive. Person with normal hearing can hear sounds at or below 25 dB HL. Hearing level above this range is considered as hearing loss. The degree of hearing loss is universally classified into 5 categories: mild, moderate, moderately-severe, severe and profound.

Type of hearing loss

There are 3 types of hearing loss, including conductive hearing loss, sensorineural hearing loss and mixed hearing loss.

Conductive hearing loss is caused by abnormality of the outer or middle ear, which affects the transmission of sound to the inner ear. Some common causes include infection in the middle ear, perforated ear drum, earwax occlusion and otoscelerosis, etc.

Sensorineural hearing loss is caused by damaged hair cells or hearing nerve, which results in a loss of loudness and clarity of speech. Sensorineural hearing loss can result from aging, virus infection, excessive noise exposure, ototoxicity etc.

Mixed hearing loss is caused by the combination of damage to the outer/middle ear and the inner ear. Typically, sound waves cannot pass through the outer ear/middle ear efficiently and once they reach the inner ear the vibrations cannot be picked up or sent to the brain. Therefore, a mixed hearing loss is the combination of a conductive and sensorineural hearing loss.

Tips for hearing protection

Hearing impairment can bring emotional, social and economic loss to individuals. Some common ways to protect your hearing include:

Never earpicking

Never use cotton bud or ear pick to remove earwax yourself to avoid damaging your eardrum or pushing earwax inside your ear.

60-60 rule

Follow the 60-60 rule when using personal audio devices (i.e. <60% of maximum volume of the device for <60 mins).

Wear earplugs

Wear earplugs to reduce noise exposure in noisy places such as concert and stadium.

swimming earplugs

Use swimming earplugs for swimming to maintain ear hygiene.

Seek help

Seek help from hearing professional in case tinnitus/difficulty in hearing is noted.

check-ups

Get regular hearing check-ups.

Frequently Asked Question

Do I need a hearing aid?

Hearing loss is often difficult to notice at its onset. If you have noted any difficulty in watching telephone, telephone usage or daily communication, you are recommended to have a hearing test. After comprehensive audiological assessment, your audiologist should be able to determine your degree and nature of hearing loss, and recommend choices of hearing aids and/or assistive listening devices to suit your listening needs.

Can I purchase hearing aid(s) without audiological test?

It is not recommended to purchase non-prescribed hearing aid(s) without any hearing test. A non-prescribed hearing aid may not provide optimal amplification for you, or it may provide too much amplification to damage your residual hearing. Hearing aids should be adjusted according to individual degree of hearing loss and listening needs. Please consult your audiologist for any advice on hearing aid.

Many people say hearing aid(s) is noisy and cannot improve my daily communication. Is it true?

Apart from the speaker’s voice, hearing aid(s) amplifies environmental sounds as well. As human brain needs time for adaptation to amplified sounds, it is recommended that hearing aid users get used to listening in typical quiet environment first before using the hearing aid in noisy listening environment. Modern digital hearing aid technologies also facilitate listening in noisy environment through directional microphone and automatic noise reduction to enhance speech understanding in different situations.

How many years do I expect my hearing aid(s) last?

With proper care and maintenance, your hearing aid(s) should last for at least 3 to 5 years or above.

How much is a hearing aid(s)?

The price depends on the style, technology level, brand and also features of hearing aid(s) you choose. Remember, the price of hearing aid also includes follow-up service, adjustment and maintenance fee. Your hearing professional will recommend a hearing product that suits your lifestyle and communication need.