DR Assessment

Early Detection Lowers Risk of Vision Loss in Diabetic Retinopathy

Global prevalence of diabetes is about 8.5%, of which 40% with diabetic retinopathy. Research showed that up to 25% of patients newly diagnosed with diabetes may have retinopathy, at the time of diagnosis1. Symptoms may not be noticeable in early stage and often being neglected. It may have progressed to advanced stage when symptoms become obvious. It may lead to irreversible eye sight damages or even cause blindness.


Diabetic Retinopathy (DR) is the second leading cause of blindness in Hong Kong. Early detection with proper treatment and follow-up helps to preserve good eyesight. Therefore, OPTICAL 88 introduced “5-minute Diabetic Retinopathy Screening Assessment” with ZEISS advanced technology VISUHEALTH. Using ZEISS VISUSCOUT fundus camera, we are able to capture retina images easily and upload to VISUHEALTH platform for Artificial Intelligence (AI) analysis. It takes only 5 minutes to complete the screening and get the result. Retina images may also be downloaded by reading QR codes with smartphones.


Diabetics and people with family history of diabetes or diabetic retinopathy are at high risk of diabetic retinopathy. Besides, obesity, smoking habit, high blood pressure and lack of experiences are also risk factors of diabetic retinopathy. Detect early and protect vision via regular DR screening! Visit below outlets for the service.


Outlets Addresses with ZEISS VISUHEALTH Diabetic Retinopathy Screening:

Hong Kong Island:
- Shop 124A, 1/F., Cityplaza, 18 Taikoo Shing Road, Taikoo Shing
- Shop No.G3, G/F., Windsor House, Causeway Bay

Kowloon:
-
Unit G95,Telford Plaza I, Kowloon Bay
- Shop No. 291, Level 2, Plaza Hollywood, Diamond Hill

New Territories:
- Shop unit 322A, Maritime Square, Tsing Yi
-
Shop No.2072-73 & 2075-76, 2/F.,TuenMunTownPlaza, Phase I, Tuen Mun
- Shop No.474-476, Level 4, Metroplaza, Kwai Fong
- Shop 142, Level 1, Park Central
, Tseung Kwan O
- Shop No.605, Level 6, Phase I, New Town Plaza, Shatin
-
Shop No.2114 & 2115, Level 2, MOSTown, Ma On Shan


Reference

1. Jimenez-Baez, Maria Valeria et al. “Early diagnosis of diabetic retinopathy in primary care.” Colombia medica (Cali, Colombia) vol.46, 1 14-8. 30 Mar.2019


Common symptoms of diabetic retinopathy and risk factors

1. Diabetic Retinopathy causes eye and vision problems

There is no obvious symptom at early stage, some patients may see floaters or shadows and need change in glasses prescription. It may cause distorted eyesight at advanced stage or even cause blindness.

2. Risk Factors

Diabetics and people with family history of diabetes or diabetic retinopathy are at high risk of diabetic retinopathy. Besides, obesity, smoking habit, high blood pressure and lack of exercises are also risk factors of diabetic retinopathy.

< Prev Next >

5分鐘「睇」檢

關注糖尿眼,體驗蔡司VISUHEALTH糖尿眼篩查


「糖尿上眼,無聲無息,及早發現,防患未然」

全球約8.5%人口患有糖尿病,當中出現糖尿病性視網膜病變(俗稱糖尿眼)的機率高達40%。研究指出,至少有25%的病例於確診糖尿病時未被診斷同時患有糖尿眼1。糖尿眼初期病徵並不明顯,很容易被忽略。然而發覺出現症狀時,可能已經為時已晚,造成無法恢復視力,甚至失明。

糖尿眼是香港第二號致盲殺手。愈早發現、及時治療並作適當的跟進,可以保護視力免受損害。OPTICAL 88與德國品牌ZEISS合作,於OPTICAL 88分店設置「5分鐘『睇』檢糖尿眼篩查」。利用蔡司VISUSCOUT眼底相機拍攝視網膜影像,再上載到VISUHEALTH平台,只需5分鐘,即可完成人工智能快速檢測。客人更可以在完成篩查後用手機下載有關視網膜照片*。


*列印檢查報告需額外收費


定期篩查能及早發現糖尿眼問題,防患未然!立即按此獲取蔡司VISUHEALTH糖尿眼篩查機會。


5分鐘『睇』檢糖尿眼篩查」體驗

地址:尖沙咀新港中心地下G18號舖

參考資料

1. Jimenez-Baez, Maria Valeria et al. “Early diagnosis of diabetic retinopathy in primary care.” Colombia medica (Cali, Colombia) vol. 46, 1 14-8. 30 Mar.2019


糖尿眼的常見症狀及高危因素

1. 患有糖尿眼對眼睛及視力的影響

糖尿眼初期沒有明顯症狀,部分患者會出現眼睛度數改變或視野出現黑影;後期視野可出現扭曲變形,甚至失明。


2. 糖尿眼高危人士

糖尿病患者、有糖尿病或糖尿眼家族病史人士。另外,肥胖、吸煙、高血壓和缺乏運動人士患病風險也較高。

< 前 後 >